I’ve Never Had Cancer…

Over the past few weeks, I’ve heard so many stories.  So many designers recalling how someone close to them has fought, sometimes won, sometimes lost, sometimes they’re still fighting.. but they’re all fighting cancer.

I’ve never had cancer, and Alhamdullah for it.  No one close to me has passed away from it.  And Alhamdullilah for that.

So, should I feel somehow out of place?  As if my cause for this is diminished?  I don’t think so.

We have all had, or will have at some point, that lump, that freckle that looks a little funny, the cough that doesn’t go away fast enough, the call from our doctor to say they found something abnormal and could we come back in for more testing…

Inshallah, it’s nothing.  But I know I have felt that sinking feeling, that stone of fear settling in my stomach and knotting itself up with worry and concern.

No one close to me has died from cancer.  I’ve never had it.  But it’s a concern and a worry for me and will always be.  It likely is for you too.

A huge part of the cure is early detection and prevention.  And no small amount of money from ACS goes to exactly that.  I will gladly take those few days of worry, knowing that thanks to advanced research, advanced testing, I might know if there’s a problem soon enough to do something about it.

So That’s my why.  You know they have that commercial for the cervical cancer vaccine.  The slogan that says “One Less.”

Maybe, my effort to help raise funds for ACS through the RFL will mean, one less.  One less story we hear about fighting cancer.  One less tear shed.  One less life lost.

A few of the things I’ve picked up at RFL.  Maybe, just maybe my shopping helps toward that ever so precious…one less.

Scarf – Sakinah- Pretty in Pink Color Change Hijab

Jacket – Nyte n Day- Moitie Jacket, RFL  At Clothing Fair

Sweater – Zaara- La Femme Turtleneck in Black

Jeans – Fri.Day – Iunno Jeans in Regular Wash

Glasses – Primoptics – Elois

Pocky Stick – Atypical

Skin – Rockberry – Jules – Tan

Scarf – Sakinah- Pretty in Pink Color Change Hijab

Jacket – Musashi-Do – Pinking in the Rain – RFL Clothng Fair

Glasses – Primoptics – Elois

Pocky Stick – Atypical

Skin – Rockberry – Jules – Tan

Scarf – Maitreya Voluminous Scarf

Jacket – De La – Shearling Jacket Rosa – Crystalblue – RFL Clothing Fair

Jeans – League – Garage Jeans in Turquoise

Glasses – Primoptics – Elois

Pocky Stick – Atypical

Skin – Rockberry – Jules – Tan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

