Oldies But Goodies – Blogger Challenge!

So my Plurk Buddy Alysha kicked out a challenge to those of us who Blog, giving us a Theme for our posts from time to time.

I’m going to miss doing a few of them because of the trip, but I had time to get this one in.

The Challenge was “Oldies but Goodies” and the rules were only blogging things a year or more old.

Which was actually kind of a challenge for me?  Apparently 2010 has been a very good shopping year for Syn.  Or that I can’t think of things I purchased more than a year ago sometimes is a sign I need to deal with the omnibus that is my inventory.

I’ve been in SL since October of 2006.  So my Inventory is, in a way, like a little walk through SL History.  From Gurl6 Hair to Dazzle to Last Call, to Pixel Dolls.  Some places are still open, some places are no longer with us.

Will Trolling through my inventory manually (Which is kind of bad for my eyes I think?) I saw where I apparently had a Binge Shopping day at fri.day

Now I did this Sans-Hijab (Without the Hijab) for a couple of reasons.  One’s kinda vain.. I wanted to show the Hair too.  The other is a little more deep.

I believe.. and I believed a year ago.. that one of the most important choices for a Muslim woman is the decision to wear a headscarf.  It’s a very deep and thoughtful decision that each woman needs to come to on her own.  There are strong arguments on both sides of the issue.

In Favor of the Headscarf, it does offer a very visible sign of modesty, a visual cue to others of a sense of removal, a sort of protection from  the increasingly invasive world around her.  It also covers up bad hair days better than any flat iron, ponytail holder, scrunchie or hair clip.

In opposition to it, wearing a headscarf DOES make you stand out in a crowd (especially in a Western Nation) which sort of defeats the purpose of hiding in the first place.  The headscarf is not specifically mandated in the Qu’ran.  The term Hijab is never used in correlation with the actual dress code of a woman.  The word “Khimar” rather “Khimaruhenna” is used.. like this:

“And tell the believing women to subdue their eyes, and maintain their chastity. They shall not reveal any parts of their bodies, except that which is necessary. They shall cover their chests, (with their Khimar) and shall not relax this code in the presence of other than their husbands, their fathers, the fathers of their husbands, their sons, the sons of their husbands, their brothers, the sons of their brothers, the sons of their sisters, other women, the male servants or employees whose sexual drive has been nullified, or the children who have not reached puberty. They shall not strike their feet when they walk in order to shake and reveal certain details of their bodies. All of you shall repent to GOD, O you believers, that you may succeed.” 24:31

Khimar is “Drape, cover, cloak.”  Understand, for those who don’t speak Arabic, a lot of our words will have several meanings based on context.

But the short end?  There’s nothing there about covering up your head. It’s about covering your chest.

So like I said.  Both are very good very solid arguments.  And so the decision to wear a headscarf or not is a personal one that should be approached with careful thought, prayer and respect.

That same respect is due from the outside as well.  When every woman makes that choice, whatever that choice may be.. Headscarf or no, each woman empowers the others and attributes value and meaning to all our choices.

When the choice is forced upon a woman.. forcing her to either wear a head covering, or to not wear one..whether through peer pressure or through government; it diminishes the power of that choice and diminishes us all.

So I love the Headscarf.  Not just as a fashion accessory, but because of what it represents.  It represents a kind of empowerment of choice.  A reminder that women can CHOOSE and that we have freedom.  It’s an amazing thing that it’s presence means just as much in that empowering choice as its absence.

So for this post?  I wanted it to be both present and absent.  So I wore Zaara’s Pashmina Scarf (Which I’ve had in my inventory for almost 2 years) in blue.  It matched great with the Midnight Blue Ballet Sweater and Khaki trousers from fri.day.  The hair is also from that shopping binge at fri.day, and is called Cameron.  Since the ballet Sweater is a little low cut at the top, I matched it to one of Whippet & Buck’s Henley shirts.

The Shoes are from 50 Flats. The Snakeskin flats that I got out of a Gacha machine before Gacha machines were cool.

The Skin is Laqroki’s “Tess” and I’ve it since June of 2009.  The Eyes are Poetic Colors in Cool Night.. which I’m pretty sure you’ve figured out are my absolute go to for eyes.  I’ve had those since May of 2009

The Primoptics Elois Glasses are practically a fixture of my Avatar and have been since March of 2009.

Now here’s a little weird factoid for you.  I haven’t changed my shape in three years.  Well, Let me correct that.  I have two versions of my shape.  My normal shape and a skirt version so that I can wear system skirts and not look like my bum is the size of Wisconsin.

Today’s pose is also more than a year old, is from Long Awkward Pose, and is part of her Blogger pack.

So there you go.  A trip through my inventory.. and my head…  I hope you enjoyed it 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oldies But Goodies – Blogger Challenge!

  1. Unity says:

    Hi Sakinah
    It was very interesting to read your view on the wearing of headscarves, and that you feel that it is more liberating than subjugating. I have always worried for the women wearing them that they felt that they had to wear them to “fit in” with Muslim tradition and appear to be devout, and that other Muslims might judge them if they chose not to (even if they say that there is no judgement). Oh, and it’s not just the Muslim religion that dictates what people should wear.

    I have to say that I feel very strongly about equal rights for everyone, and that religion has no place in dictating what people should wear – generally because these decrees are usually put in place by people who are not affected by the ruling. However, if it makes you happy to cover your head, then that’s a good thing for you. But I can’t help wondering about all the other women in the world who feel compelled to do it or suffer the consequences.

  2. Sakinah says:

    When it’s a choice? It is liberating. when it’s enforced, like I said, either through peer pressure or government law, it diminishes all of us.

    I rant from time to time abut how Islam used to be the radical liberals, with crazy ideas about racial and religious tolerance, about women as equals with the right to own property and inherit. How all these cool equalities people tout were, in theory, old hat to any Muslim.

    The world’s not perfect. I know there are places where it’s a law to cover the head as well as places where it’s against the law to cover the head. Both of them do it wrong in my opinion.

  3. Pingback: PLURKY BLOGGER CHALLENGES LAUNCHES! WEEK 1 – OLDIES BUT GOODIES « Alysha’s Second Life

Leave a Reply

